|Call Today - (386) 756-4733|
Motorcycle laws by state
(Provided by MSF converted to html)
Scooter License laws Florida
Florida Mandatory motorcycle training
Eligibility & Requirements For a Motorcycle Endorsement
- You must be at least 16 years old.
- You must have at least a Class E driver license.
- You must complete the Basic Rider Course, regardless of age.
To apply, you'll need to complete a written exam with multiple-choice questions about basic road safety and motorcycle laws. You'll also have to undergo a driving test on your motorcycle, as well as a vision and hearing test. If you attend the Basic Rider Course this written and skills test is waved.
Motorcycle only License
To obtain a Florida Motorcycle only License, you won't be tested on
four wheeled vehicle driving
skills. "Motorcycle Only" driver license - You must complete the
basic motorcycle safety course. - After you complete the course you must go to a driver license office or tax collector office that issues licenses and inform them that you completed the course. Upon providing appropriate ID and paying the required endorsements fees your license will be issued a motorcycle endorsement.
Temporary Permits - As of July 1, 2008, the State of Florida no longer issues temporary instruction permits. Permits issued prior to that date will be valid for 90 days; however, they are not renewable. all persons seeking a motorcycle endorsement, regardless of age, are required to take a motorcycle safety course.
If you're at least 21 years old and have a minimum medical insurance policy of $10,000, you can bypass wearing a helmet while riding a motorcycle. If not you must wear a DOT approved motorcycle helmet. You must wear eye protection, goggles or glasses.
Mopeds & Scooters
Obtain a regular Class E driver license or higher; a motorcycle endorsement is not necessary. You'll still need to register your moped or scooter with the Division of Motor Vehicles. , Passengers 16 YOA or younger are required to wear a DOT certified Helmet.
Florida Rider Training Program (FRTP)
As of July 1, 2008, every motorcycle rider must complete a basic motorcycle safety course before obtaining a motorcycle endorsement or motorcycle-only license. The course must be one that is approved by the Motorcycle Safety Foundation (MSF). If you have completed the Basic Riders Course in another state, Florida DMV and 38 other states will accept it.